Healthcare Leadership Update - University of California, Irvine
Message from Terry A. Belmont, CEO, UC Irvine Medical Center and
Ralph Clayman, MD, Dean, UC Irvine School of Medicine

June 1, 2012

Dear members of the UC Irvine community,

After many years of service as the founding director of the Chao Family Comprehensive Cancer Center at UC Irvine, Dr. Frank Meyskens has asked that we initiate the process of identifying the next director for the cancer center.

As such, we will be conducting a national search to recruit an extraordinary individual to continue the superb program that Dr. Meyskens created and sustained. We have asked Dr. Ranjan Gupta, chair of the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery, to lead this crucial search for UC Irvine Health. He has accepted this task with exceptional energy and dedication, and has already assembled a truly first-rate search committee:

Ranjan Gupta, MD
Search Committee Chair
Professor and Chair, Orthopaedic Surgery
ranjang@uci.edu

Kenneth Chang, MD
Professor and Chief, Gastroenterology
Executive Director, H.H. Chao Comprehensive Digestive Disease Center
kchang@uci.edu

Dan Cooper, MD
Professor and Chair, Pediatrics
Director, Institute for Clinical and Translational Science
dcooper@uci.edu

Teresa Conk
Chief Strategy Officer, UC Irvine Health
tconk@uci.edu

Hung Y. Fan, PhD
Professor, Molecular Biology and Biochemistry
hyfan@uci.edu

Alice Issai
Chief Operating Officer, UC Irvine Medical Center
aissai@uci.edu

John Lowengrub, PhD
Chancellor's Professor, Mathematics
lowengrb@math.uci.edu

Ed Nelson, MD
Associate Professor, Medicine
Chief, Hematology/Oncology
enelson@uci.edu

Ellen Olshansky, DNSc, RN, WHNP-BC, FAAN
Professor and Director, Program in Nursing Science
eolshans@uci.edu

Tom Poulos, PhD
Chancellor's Professor, Biochemistry, Chemistry and Pharmaceutical Sciences
poulos@uci.edu

J. Leslie Redpath, PhD
Professor, Radiation Oncology
jlredpat@uci.edu

Michael Stamos, MD
Professor and John E. Connolly Chair in Surgery
mstamos@uci.edu

Hal Stern, PhD
Professor, Statistics
Ted and Janice Smith Family Foundation Dean
Donald Bren School of Information and Computer Sciences
sternh@uci.edu

Bruce Tromberg, PhD
Professor, Biomedical Engineering
Director, Beckman Laser Institute and Medical Clinic
bjtrombe@uci.edu

Greg Weiss, PhD
Professor, Chemistry and Molecular Biology and Biochemistry
gweiss@uci.edu

This exceptional committee will be working diligently during the coming months, as we look forward to the successful recruitment of the next cancer center director. To nominate individuals who you believe might be qualified for this opportunity, please contact members of the search committee or email Dr. Gupta, chair of the search committee, directly.

Kind regards,


Terry A. Belmont
Chief Executive Officer
UC Irvine Medical Center

Ralph V. Clayman, MD
Dean and Professor of Urology
UC Irvine School of Medicine