Trouble viewing this email? Open it in your Web browser.

Announcing the Final
Cohort of Dean’s Scholars

Dear colleagues,

In alignment with the UCI Health Strategic Plan, the School of Medicine embarked on a school-wide recruitment for 12 Dean’s Scholars. The primary objectives in developing this academy of medical education leaders were to:

1. Implement the Education Strategic Plan initiatives focused on advancing medical student clinical skills training and assessment.

2. Train and develop the next generation of medical education scholars and national leaders.

We'd like to thank the Search Committee, led by Associate Deans Warren Wiechmann and Jeffrey Suchard, for their tremendous effort in selecting such a diverse and talented group of faculty. After a highly competitive process, we are pleased to announce the following final cohort of Dean's Scholars:

  • Robert Edwards, Pathology
  • Dawn Elfenbein, Surgery
  • Penny Murata, Pediatrics
  • Ariana Nelson, Anesthesiology
  • Tan Nguyen, Family Medicine
  • Matthew Reed, Psychiatry/Internal Medicine
  • Andrew Reikes, Internal Medicine
  • Nathan Rojek, Dermatology
  • Sangeeta Sakaria, Emergency Medicine
  • Bobby Sasson, Internal Medicine
  • Sangeeta Sakaria, Emergency Medicine
  • Sonia Seghal, Internal Medicine

Please join us in congratulating this amazing group of faculty on their new roles!


Michael J. Stamos, MD
Dean, UCI School of Medicine

Khanh-Van Le-Bucklin, MD
Vice Dean, Medical Education